Premier League

Carabao Cup fourth round draw in full: Potential Liverpool-Arsenal, Tottenham-Chelsea ties | Football | Sport


The Carabao Cup fourth round has thrown up two potential all-Premier League showdowns between Liverpool and Arsenal and Tottenham and Chelsea. Though the third round has yet to be played, with the fixtures commencing next midweek, the fourth round draw was conducted early in order to help the English Football League plan ahead.

Should Premier League champions Liverpool find a way past League One Lincoln City, they could face FA Cup winners Arsenal at Anfield.

The Gunners have won the last two meetings between the two sides, including last month’s Community Shield clash at Wembley, but must first beat Leicester away from home.

Their meeting would be a repeat of their thrilling fourth round clash last season, which Liverpool won 5-4 on penalties after a 5-5 draw after extra time.

JUST IN: Spurs boss Mourinho refuses to answer Gareth Bale transfer question

Divock Origi scored a 94th-minute equaliser for a youthful Reds team to force an extra 12 minutes before Curtis Jones scored the decisive penalty after Dani Ceballos’ spot-kick was saved.

Meanwhile, Jose Mourinho’s Tottenham could face Chelsea in a repeat of the 2008 League Cup final, which the north London club won 2-1.

Mourinho is a four-time winner of the competition having been victorious three times at Chelsea and once with Manchester United.

He is hoping to win Spurs’ first piece of silverware since 2008 with then manager Mauricio Pochettino’s dumped out in embarrassing style by Colchester last year.

For the all-London tie, Spurs must first get past League Two’s Leyton Orient while Chelsea must overcome Championship opposition in Barnsley.

The Blues could name a strong team in both ties after their £200million summer spend, with Frank Lampard looking to win his first trophy too after the Blues lost the FA Cup final to Arsenal at the start of August.

Elsewhere, Manchester United could take on Brighton or Preston if they beat Luton away from home while Everton’s reward for winning at Fleetwood would be a meeting with either West Ham or Hull.

Get NOW TV’s Sky Sports season pass today and save 25 per cent

Holders Manchester City take on Bournemouth in the third round and face a trip to either Millwall or Burnley in the next stage if they secure victory against the Cherries, who were relegated from the Premier League last term.

City have won the competition in back-to-back seasons and in four of the last five years, with only United’s 2017 triumph over Southampton splitting the Citizens’ successes.

Newcastle, in the third round for the first time since 2016, will fancy their chances of beating Morecambe and then either Newport or Watford in the next phase.


How Tottenham will line up with Sergio Reguilon and Gareth Bale

Man City star Ferran Torres sends Liverpool league title warning

Chelsea look to sell unwanted duo to free up Declan Rice funds

No team outside of the Premier League’s big six has won it since Swansea in 2013, while Liverpool have only won it once since 2003 and Arsenal not since 1993.

Everton have never won the tournament despite their history, last reaching a final in 1984 when they lost in a replay against Merseyside rivals Liverpool, who have lifted the trophy more times than any other team (eight).

The fourth round will begin on Monday 28 September, with the third round to be held between Tuesday 22 September and Thursday 24 September.

Carabao Cup third round draw in full

Lincoln City vs Liverpool

Bristol City vs Aston Villa

Morecambe vs Newcastle Utd

Luton Town vs Manchester Utd

Preston North End vs Brighton

Fulham vs Sheffield Wednesday

Manchester City vs Bournemouth

West Ham Utd vs Hull City

Millwall vs Burnley

Chelsea vs Barnsley

Stoke City vs Gillingham

Leicester City vs Arsenal

West Brom vs Brentford

Newport County vs Watford

Fleetwood Town vs Everton

Leyton Orient vs Tottenham

Carabao Cup fourth round draw in full

Lincoln City/Liverpool vs Leicester City/Arsenal

Millwall/Burnley vs Manchester City/Bournemouth

West Brom/Brentford vs Fulham/Sheffield Wednesday

Fleetwood Town/Everton vs West Ham Utd/Hull City

Bristol City/Aston Villa vs Stoke City/Gillingham

Leyton Orient/Tottenham vs Chelsea/Barnsley

Newport County/Watford vs Morecambe/Newcastle Utd

Preston North End/Brighton vs Luton Town/Manchester Utd

This article contains affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission on any sales of products or services we write about. This article was written completely independently, see more details here

Source link . More news

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response

Football news
Association football, more commonly known as football or soccer, is a team sport played with a spherical ball between two teams of eleven players. It is played by 250 million players in over 200 countries and dependencies, making it the world's most popular sport.